Annan & District Athletic Club    

Home ] Up ]




2009/10 Winter League.

The final event in the ADAC Winter League took place on Sunday in Annan. Thirteen runners turned out on the spring like morning to take part in the 4 and a half mile run over 5 laps of the Everholm . Fastest on the day was Lockerbie ace Joe Boardman in a time of 28.16 however he had to pull out all his reserves to stay ahead of newcomer Andy Render who is improving with every outing and clocked an impressive 28.19. Roger Irving took the third spot with his time of 29 minutes . The next group of runners was headed by yet another vast improver Andrew Kennedy who can be very pleased with his time of 30.29 it was enough to stay ahead of Kevin Plummer 30.36 Mark Whitelaw 30.37 and Ranjit Thomas 30.40. Caroline Legg led the ladies home in 34.55 although Louise Hopper was not too far behind in 35.19 . Alan Creighton and Alan Legg were so keen they lost count of their laps and decided to run an extra one each but their times for the 5 and were recorded at 36.05 and 37.20. Nicola Kennedy feeling a bit under the weather ( self inflicted i might add) did well to finish in 37.30 and finally just back from a week’s adventure in the Cairngorms was Jean Robson who crossed in 41.52.

This year’s league, which was once again kindly sponsored by the M6 Joint Venture Project and our thanks go to them for their continued support, was one of the most successfully contested in its 6 year history. Due to the adverse weather this year many events had to be rearranged at the last minute and have taken place in very demanding conditions but it has proved to bring out the best in many people and the majority of the runners have gained strength and fitness because of them.

The overall winner of this year’s event for the fourth time in a row is Joe Boardman Gordon Vivers takes the runners up place and third spot goes to John Robson. Caroline Legg was 5th overall and was the first female.





Well done and a great turnout from club members.

                GORDON 1st Supervet                                                      Caroline 2nd Lady Supervet

                    Ranjit  2nd Doctor                                                       Roger  2nd Local

          Junior Race Winner  Keiran Saunders                         3rd Girl, Junior Race   Rowan Glendinning